Cast Iron Skillet Coffee Cake

February 21, 2009

Coffee Cake 1

My earliest memories of coffee cake were from none other than Ms. Sara Lee. My father was always the one responsible for getting us ready for school in the morning, and breakfast was usually mushy cereal, burnt cheese toast or (if we were lucky) straight-from-the-freezer coffee cake. Sometimes he would even let me have a little cup of coffee to go with it, which I would fill to the brim with cream and load up with sugar. When I would stir it, a syrupy glaze would appear on the spoon, which I loved. This habit still probably attests for the reason I like my coffee so sweet. 

This recipe for coffee cake surpasses anything Sara Lee could ever pull off. I’ve been eager to use my new Lodge cast iron skillet, which made me feel as if I was using a trusty heirloom recipe passed down from my grammy. I don’t believe I will ever have to try out another recipe, as this is true perfection. I can’t wait to make this for my own children one day, and they for theirs. It is that good. 

Coffee Cake 2

BROWN SUGAR COFFEE CAKE

Source: The Cast Iron Skillet Cookbook

Cake

  • 2 sticks unsalted butter, at room temperature, cut into 8 pieces
  • 1 cup light brown sugar (I used white sugar because I only had enough brown for the topping. Worked like a charm)
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 3/4 cup sour cream
  • 2 1/2 cups all purpose flour
  • 1 1/2 tsp baking powder

Topping (I made double of this. What can I say, I’m a streusel junkie.)

  • 1/2 cup all purpose flour
  • 3/4 cup light brown sugar
  • 1 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 3/4 stick chilled butter, cut into 4 pieces
  • 1 cup chopped walnuts

Position a rack in the center of the oven and preheat to 350 degrees.

For the cake: Place the butter in a large mixing bowl. Add brown sugar and beat with an electric mixer until light and fluffy. Add the eggs, one at a time, beating after each addition. Blend  in vanilla and sour cream. With a rubber spatula, fold in flour and baking powder until completely blended. Generously butter a cast iron skillet and spread the batter evenly in the pan.

For the topping: Mix the flour, brown sugar, cinnamon and chilled butter with your fingers until well blended. Sprinkle evenly over the cake batter. Sprinkle with walnuts over the top. Place the skillet in the oven and bake for 35 – 40 minutes (mine took just a few minutes longer).  Serve warm.

Leave a Reply

