Nana Dozier’s Easy Peasy Chocolate Pie

March 1, 2009

Chocolate Pie 1

My Nana Dozier is a fine southern cook. When I was just a wee thing, she taught me how to make chicken and dumplings from scratch and introduced me to the glories of B for D (breakfast for dinner)! I thought it was so cool that we got to eat pancakes, eggs and bacon for supper, and that surely we would be in trouble if my parents ever found out.

But my all-time favorite dish was her delectable chocolate pie. I requested it for every holiday and sometimes I could even get one out of her on a weekday. Sometimes. Now my nana is much older (1oo years and counting, go grammie!!), so she relies on my mother and I to do the cooking. When she recently passed me down her stained and tattered index card with the hand-written recipe, I was so thrilled. And honored. And shocked!

This pie was made in the microwave. Now, I saw nana do some little tricks in the kitchen every now and then, but this didn’t include the m-word. When I inquired with her about this, she told me about a microwave cookbook she bought during the Vietnam War. Microwaves were all the rage back then, and she discovered this recipe in the book. Apparently, it was better than any other chocolate pie recipe she had ever made, so it stuck, long after microwaves went back out of fashion. 

I’ve made this pie a countless number of times now, and every time it is eaten in a flash. And I don’t think anyone has ever guessed it’s dirty little secret. 

Chocolate Pie 2

CHOCOLATE PIE

Source: Janie Dozier

  • 1 homemade or store bought pie crust, cooked and ready to fill
  • 3 oz. semisweet chocolate (I’ve used regular baking chocolate, Hershey’s and the fancy stuff, and it all tastes good to me)
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 3 tablespoons flour
  • 1 1/2 cups milk
  • 3 egg yolks, beaten
  • 2 tablespoons butter, melted
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1 big batch of whipped cream

In a large microwave safe bowl, melt chocolate on medium power for 2 to 4 minutes. Add sugar and flour and mix until combined. Stir in milk and eggs until well blended.

Microwave on high 6-7 minutes, stirring every 1 1/2 to 2 minutes with a whisk. Add butter and vanilla. Stir thoroughly and pour into pie crust. Allow to cool and then top with homemade whipped cream and chocolate shavings as garnish. 

Chocolate Pie 3

3 Responses to “Nana Dozier’s Easy Peasy Chocolate Pie”

  1. kim Says:

    i LOVE chocolate cream pie. gosh, what i would do for a bite of that right now. looks great!


  2. […] Thanksgiving also meant turkey and dressing, mashed potatoes and gravy, green-bean casserole and chocolate pie. But I especially loved the sweet potato casserole, more so than anybody else in my family. When I […]

  3. Lauren Says:

    I love this recipe! I’m going to try it this week- and I love the fact that it’s from a 1960s microwave cookbook. Props to your Nana! My Grandad is 98 and has a new girlfriend who’s 97–funny and awesome at the same time.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

